Mixing is the key to the personality of your sound. A good mixing is intended to get all elements in the track balanced correctly, to "seat" recorded material in the mix with emphasizing of the important musical accents and its readability or spatial localization.

Mixing at Plasmid Sound is so much more than the accuracy, convenience and clarity of audio environment synonymous with digital technology. When it comes to mixing musicians and producers worldwide continue to choose analog audio path and processing equipment. Its ability to deliver a sound with wonderful sonic detail and superior production quality keeps analog gear a firm favorite over DAW among audio engineering specialists.

Each project is one of a kind. The superior technical potential at my control room enables me to make the most out of your mix without compromising its authenticity: analog compression, high-end line drivers and EQ such as API, Chandler, Neve, Smart Research, Empirical Labs, TL Audio, Retro Instruments, Vintech Audio, TFPro, Sontec, Manley; a bunch of "must have" time-based and spatial processors like TC Electronic, Lexicon, Eventide, Yamaha, DBX, SPL, Moog and many more; outstanding monitoring chain through Dangerous - Mytek - Focal.

HOW DO I PREPARE MY MUSIC FOR MIXING?

You have to ensure the multi-tracks provided are ready for mixing. Please do not assume any tuning or timing issues will be automatically resolved. I accept WAV or AIFF files at 44.1, 48, 88.2 and 96kHz, 16 or 24 bit. Please supply me with mono or stereo files, clearly named and without audio clipping. Stereo files will be counted as 2 tracks of audio, for example 'Strings L & R' will be counted as 2 tracks. You will need to provide multi-tracks that are consolidated or bounced from the start point of your song (bar 1 beat 1 or start time code). No effects on any of the individual tracks, (no compression, reverb, eq, delay etc). Only keep on plugins that are crucial to sound shaping or a special effect. I recommend to turn off any effects on your master stereo bus too. All files must be of the same duration, sample rate and bit depth. I can't accept DAW sessions (i.e Pro Tools, Logic, Cubase etc). Print any midi / virtual instruments – I can only accept WAV or AIFF audio files.

top

Rates (USD)

MIXING - $270 — $980
Price per song depending on the track count and the complexity and length of the song. Attended (preferably) and unattended (e-mixing) session available. Mix consultation and feedback is free of any charge.
With all questions feel free to contact me at any time via mail contact@plasmidsound.com
top

If you decide to mix by yourself but after plan to use third-party mastering service, here are some useful tips and suggestions from Plasmid Sound:

Mastering Is Not Magic

The mastering process cannot turn a terrible mix into a golden one. Please make sure that you are 100% happy with your mix before submitting it for mastering. Do your best to get your mix sounding as nice as possible to allow the mastering process to bring out the best in it.

Headroom

Your 24 bit mix should have its highest peak between -12 dBFS and -3 dBFS. This translates to between 12 and 3 dB of headroom before exceeding the digital ceiling of 0 dBFS.

Headroom is the amount of dB before your mix clips and the overload indicator lights up on your master output. If your mix is too loud then simply lower all faders until the highest peak is within the recommended range. Sound quality will not be affected when you lower the fader. With 24 bits you can go as low as -48 dBFS and still have full CD quality (16 bit). However, once you exceed the digital ceiling, distortion will occur, and it will not be possible to restore the original quality. There is no reason to maximize the volume during mixdown. I will make sure your song reaches its maximum loudness potential later in the mastering process. A mix that has been squashed can rarely be rescued and often in these situations mastering can do more harm than good. There are circumstances where I recommend to the client that we leave tracks alone. In addition you should know that internal headroom of all modern software sequencers without exception is negligible compared to inner headroom of analog high-end devices: +26 dBu is more than natural exponent for them and it is not available for the digital environment even based on today's 64 bit computers. And the peak-to-average ratio of an analog tape recording can be as much as 12-14dB, compared with as much as 20dB for an uncompressed digital recording.

If you are using plug-ins on the master output during mixing, then export two versions: A) one version with plug-ins enabled on the master output, and B) one version with plug-ins bypassed on the master output. Limiting or clipping should be avoided on mixdowns for mastering. Having two mix versions gives me a choice in case you over-processed the mix. Check that your mix does not exceed the headroom when bypassing the plug-ins. Also do not use any kind of normalizing on your mixdown. Normalizing raises the signal level in an unnecessary fashion, and it will change the amount of headroom left in the mix.

Sub Frequencies

Loud or unnecessary sub frequencies (below 40 Hz) in individual tracks can cause problems with the sound quality and the final volume of the master. Make sure you low cut all tracks that do not contain meaningful sound in the sub frequencies. For instance, a vocal can be cut at around 80 Hz to avoid pops or rumble. Using a gentle 12 dB/Octave slope will sound more natural than a steep filter. Do not cut the entire mix though as this could lead to a thin sounding mix if you are not careful.

Fades

Do not fade out the end or begining of the mix. Instead, tell me where the fade should begin and end. Write down the fade times in absolute or relative terms, i.e. "fade out from 4:20 to 4:45" or "fade the last 25 seconds of the song".

Dithering and Noise Shaping

Do not use noise shaping or colored dither, e.g. UV22 or POW-r when exporting your mixdown for mastering. In very rare cases noise shaping can cause high frequency artifacts during the mastering process. You can use flat dither during the mixdown, referred to as TPDF. In all circumstances dithering and noise shaping on a 24 bit file has very little effect on the sound, so leave if off if you are uncertain. The final bit reduction to 16 bit (audio CD format) is performed by me as the last step of the mastering process.

top

Сведение - это ключ к индивидуальности вашего звука. Именно сведение призвано правильно сбалансировать звучание всех инструментов в композиции, "усадить" записанный материал в общем миксе, подчеркнуть все значимые музыкальные акценты, читаемость партий и их пространственную локализацию.

Сведение в Plasmid Sound - это не только точность, удобство и чистота аудио среды, которые несут в себе цифровые технологии. Большинство музыкантов и продюсеров по всему миру по прежнему выбирают сведение с использованием аналогового оборудования, качество работы которого сложно добиться в DAW. Какие только эпитеты не услышишь среди звукоинженеров, призванные в восхитительной степени передать ту звуковую картину, что достигается при суммировании на аналоговом оборудовании.

Каждый проект уникален. И чтобы сохранить это многообразие контрольная комната Plasmid Sound обладает достойным техническим потенциалом: аналоговые компрессоры, линейные усилители (line drivers) и эквалайзеры high-end класса от API, Chandler, Neve, Smart Research, Empirical Labs, TL Audio, Retro Instruments, Vintech Audio, TFPro, Sontec, Manley; приборы пространственной обработки и эффект-процессоры, получившие статус must have среди профессионалов - TC Electronic, Lexicon, Eventide, Yamaha, DBX, SPL, Moog и другие; исключительная цепь мониторинга от Dangerous - Mytek - Focal.

КАК подготовить ТРЕК для сведения

Вы должны быть полностью уверены в готовности всех аудиодорожек к процессу сведения. Помните, что любые незавершённые манипуляции с изменением высоты тона вокала или инструментов, а также любые изменения на временной шкале трека должны быть закончены до начала сведения. Для работы вам необходимо предоставить файлы форматов WAV или AIFF с частотой дискретизации 44.1, 48, 88.2 или 96kHz и разрядностью 16 или 24 бита. Аудио файлы могут быть как моно, так и стерео; они должны иметь достаточный запас громкости и не превышать уровень 0 dBFS. Стерео пары, предоставляемые в виде двух отдельных моно файлов, должны иметь соответствующие окончания в названии, на-пример "Strings L" и "Strings R". Все предоставляемые файлы должны быть одной длительности и иметь единый временной старт, на-пример "bar 1 / beat 1" или start time code. Для сведения не принимаются файлы сессий DAW (Pro Tools, Logic, Cubase и других). Если ваш трек содержит midi партии или партии виртуальных инструментов, вам необходимо сделать их миксдаун (bouncing / freeze) с учётом всех данных автоматизации до начала процесса сведения – для работы принимаются только файлы некомпрессрованного аудио форматов WAV или AIFF.

наверх

Цены (USD)

СВЕДЕНИЕ - $270 — $980
Цена указана за одну композицию и формируется исходя из количества аудиодорожек в треке, сложности аранжировки и её длительности. Доступны онлайн-сервис и сессия в студии с участием заказчика (предпочтительно).
По всем интересующим вас вопросам, предложениям и комментариям вы можете написать мне по адресу contact@plasmidsound.com
наверх

Если вы решили заниматься сведением своих композиций самостоятельно, но после планируете воспользоваться сторонним мастеринг-сервисом, несколько полезных советов и напоминаний от Plasmid Sound:

МАСТЕРИНГ НЕ ВСЕСИЛЕН

Мастеринг не в состоянии превратить мёртвый микс в брильянтовую запись. Это невозможно. То, что заставляет слушателя вновь и вновь возвращаться к вашей композиции, делается именно во время сведения или даже на стадии записи.

ЗАПАС ГРОМКОСТИ

Если вы сводите свой проект в цифровой среде с разрешением в 24 бита, максимально допустимые значения пиков (самых громких фрагментов композиции) должны находиться в пределах -12 dBFS и -9 dBFS. Проще говоря, ваш трек должен иметь запас громкости от 12 до 9 дБ до того, как он превысит пограничное значение цифровой шкалы в 0 dBFS.

Headroom (запас громкости) - это количество дБ до того, как трек начнёт клиппировать, и индикаторы мастер-секции начнут загораться красным цветом. Если ваш проект слишком громкий, вам необходимо понизить уровень всех присутствующих в нём дорожек, опустив их фейдеры громкости. Качество звука при этом никак не пострадает: оставаясь в 24-х битной среде вы можете безопасно понижаться до -48 dBFS и при этом сохранять качество компакт-диска (16 бит). В противном случае, превысив нулевой порог цифровой шкалы, вы получите слышимые цифровые искажения, которые невозможно будет устранить в последствии. Во время мастеринг-сессии я сделаю ваш трек звучащим громко на столько, на сколько это будет потенциально возможно, поэтому нет никакой необходимости повышать его громкость во время сведения. Кроме того, следует помнить, что внутренний headroom всех без исключения современных программных секвенсоров ничтожно мал по сравнению с внутренним запасом громкости аналоговых приборов high-end класса, для которых +28dBu это более чем обыкновенный показатель, недоступный для цифровой среды даже на базе современных 64-битных компьютеров. А коэффициент амплитуды записи (соотношение пиковых значений к среднеквадратичным или то, что по-английски называется crest factor), произведённой на аналоговую плёнку, может достигать 12-14 дБ без дополнительной компрессии против 20 дБ, максимум на которые способно некомпрессированное цифровое аудио без очевидной деградации сигнала.

Если вы используете плагины в мастер-секции вашего проекта, сделайте миксдаун (боунсинг) в двух вариантах: с активными плагиными и с выключенными. Два варианта дадут выбор мастеринг-инженеру, если вы переборщите с обработкой во время сведения. Применение лимитеров и компрессоров на мастер-шине должно быть исключено в любом случае. Также будьте внимательны с уровнем мастер-секции после отключения плагин - он может потребовать компенсации.

УЛЬТРАНИЗКИЕ ЧАСТОТЫ

Высокая громкость или избыточное присутствие ультранизких частот (ниже 40 Герц) на индивидуальных дорожках вашего проекта могут стать проблемой для достижения чистого, громкого и ясно звучащего трека. Обрежьте все ультранизкие частоты на каждой дорожке, которая не несёт в себе никакой смысловой нагрузке в данном частотном диапазоне. На-пример, вокальную дорожку можно обрезать около 80 Герц мягким фильтром 12дБ на октаву, или хай-хэт около 200 Герц фильтром 18дБ на октаву. Однако не применяйте такой тип обработки ко всему миксу, так как это может сделать его слишком тонким и он потеряет вес.

ПРИМЕНЕНИЕ ФЕЙДЕРА

Не применяйте фейдеры в начале и в конце вашей композиции: работа с макродинамикой во время мастеринг-сессии с использованием аналогового оборудования даёт заметно другие результаты. Просто укажите, в каком месте трека в начале или в конце вы хотите применить фейдер. Вы можете указать это в абсолютном или в относительном значении, на-пример "финальный фейдер с 4:20 до 4:45" или "увести фейдером последние 25 секунд трека".

ДИЗЕРИНГ И НОЙЗ-ШЕЙПИНГ

Отключите любой алгоритм нойз-шейпинга или окрашивающего дизеринга (как UV22 или POW-r) во время экспорта (боунсинга) вашего трека для последующей мастеринг-сессии. В очень редких случаях вы можете использовать "плоский" дизеринг вроде TPDF. Но так или иначе в 24-х битной среде дизеринг и нойз-шейпинг оказывают ничтожно малое влияние на звук, поэтому я настоятельно рекомендую вовсе их не использовать. Понижение битности до 16 бит - это прерогатива мастеринг-инженера, поэтому и использование камуфлирующих эффектов должно проводиться лишь во время мастеринга.

наверх